A number of university courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work as part of their program. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Students have now been asked to complete mandatory period on unpaid internship as a part of their program while studying at the University. This practice has its own pros and cons. I would like to note down some important advantages as well as disadvantages on the same. First and foremost it is always better to have hands on experience than knowledge of theory alone. Unpaid jobs are going to be a huge bonus for the students who are about to start their career once they are graduated. A graduate in hospitality and tourism industry will not be confident enough to face customers from various backgrounds on his first day of office unless he has experienced this while at university, performing voluntary jobs. This initial experience that one acquires from unpaid jobs is invaluable. The voluntary jobs also help students to learn from their mistakes inorder to develop good work habits, provide training and knowledge to obtain employment. On the contrary, voluntary jobs do have their own downsides. Some students can find this program quite difficult to cope up with. Focusing on work as well as studies can be impossible at times as a result the academic performances can be affected. This situation might create panic not just among students but also their parents. Students may decide to leave college due to this added pressure. To sum up, voluntary or unpaid jobs for students while at university can have some setbacks but as discussed above the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages and can be beneficial in long run.