Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Many museums require an admission fee, while others do not. I believe the advantage of this fee far outweighs its disadvantage because without it, many museums wouldn’t be able to protect their collections well. On the one hand, entrance fees may discourage people from visiting. For example, in China, all public museums are free to Chinese citizens. So, low-income families who cannot afford places, such as amusement parks and movie theaters, often take their children to museums to spend their weekends. They may stop visiting them if they have to pay to enter. However, according to my observation, most of them go there not to appreciate the exhibits but to enjoy the free air-conditioning. They create noise and overcrowd museums. Therefore, I think a reduction in visitor numbers would not be a bad thing. On the other hand, admission charges allow museums to better protect their collections. Due to climate change, natural disasters are happening more and more frequently. By charging for admission, museums can afford to use high-tech methods to minimize the impact of these disasters. For instance, with revenue from entrance charges, New York City’s Whitney Museum of American Art was able to build an up-to-date flood wall, which protects its works from potential flooding of the river nearby. I think this is a great On the other hand, admission charges allow museums to better protect their collections. Due to climate change, natural disasters are happening more and more frequently. By charging for admission, museums can afford to use high-tech methods to minimize the impact of these disasters. For instance, with revenue from entrance charges, New York City’s Whitney Museum of American Art was able to build an up-to-date flood wall, which protects its works from potential flooding of the river nearby. I think this is a great advantage for museums because some of their works are masterpieces from the past. Keeping them in good condition is important for our cultural heritage. In conclusion, although a paid- admission model may deter visitors, I believe this disadvantage is greatly outweighed by the advantage that the money raised helps to fund the upkeep of museums collections.