In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they have bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food in that way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

There has been a phenomenon that people waste a lot of food that they have bought from shops and restaurants. I think this is a negative trend, and there are some reasons behind it. First, is the misconduct of the government. Take the US as an example. According to some statistical figures, the average amount of wasted food in the US in 2010 was 250 million tonnes. It's distressing to see food being wasted; however, the more important thing is how the government can guide its citizens to avoid wasting food. In China, we are taught from a very young age that every crop is the outcome of the arduous work of farmers; therefore, we always cherish food extremely. Nevertheless, the situation in the western world is the opposite. Due to their developed agriculture, they don't usually worry about famine. As a result, this habit has become a universal idea in westerners' minds. Second, the taste of food plays an important role. As we know, whenever we buy food or eat food, its taste is constantly of the utmost importance. The food with a good taste will sell like hot cakes; the food with a terrible taste will be discarded like trash. Take imported fruit as an example. It's well-known that Spanish fruit is prestigious in Europe, not only because of its taste but also because of its shape. Hence, Spanish oranges in supermarkets are invariably popular. On the contrary, some local products will be wasted on account of their bad tastes. There are solutions that can reduce the amount of food people waste. For instance, the government should propagate the importance of food, and guide students not to throw food away in schools. As we know, students are the future generations; thus, it's vital to inculcate students with the right value at a young age. In conclusion, I believe there are two main reasons and the solution.