Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although working for an organisation has its own benefits, people are rather choosing to be self-employed because they have started to realise that it is extremely beneficial in long run over the former choice. First and foremost, working for an employer may be shiny at first, but with experience, people have come to the conclusion that money is not the only factor to be considered. Respect and mental peace are equally crucial and that's the major reason people are shifting to start their own businesses or perhaps working as a freelancer. While companies have fixed timings, they never let the employees leave at the desired time whereas when it comes to self-employment, one has the option to work as per their will. With work-from-home options nowadays, freelancers can even enjoy travelling and working from any location in the world. Although, self-employment may be lucrative there are a lot of hardships involved. Business owners have to go through a tough initial phase and even work longer than before when they were working in a company. Also, companies provide salaries on time which wouldn't be the case if the business is not profitable, which can result in a debt situation. For instance, I was working a daily 9-5 job and was not happy with the stressful work environment which later I decided to resign and start my own digital marketing agency. Things seemed exciting at the start but with time I realised the pressure is worse than working in the company. In conclusion, I believe being self-employed requires one to be focused, confident and ambitious. Although there are risks involved, it's totally worth it in the end.