You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. , and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Water bodies like rivers, lake or sea is the base of life and nowadays the most polluted as well. It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of water pollution is escalating at an alarming rate in current scenario. This problem is at a depressing magnitude.There is a plethora of reasons why it can impact nature. In this,essay further light will be shed on the concern why people are majorly concerned. Commencing with the effect on the animal first, all the animals are dependent for their food on rivers or sea either directly or indirectly. Fish lives in water and are hunted by birds or animals. Because of, pollution they will lose their habitat which can cause the extension of many fishes. On the other hand, Human society also uses that water in their daily life for example in farming, and cooking. Polluted water can cause soil erosion or poison food. Additionally, this can lead to soil infertility which will impact on growth of food. I would like to give an example of the Yamuna river, which is located in the heart of Delhi city. Most of the factories are near this river and dump all the garbage in this river. As a result of this act, the river is now highly polluted and a foam-like layer is populated on the surface of the water. It is considered a holy river in India and many people come to worship it on few festivals. Due to pollution, it is hard to stand near the river due to the bad smell and many people are consuming this highly polluted water. To Sum up, Food chain is dependent on the water bodies like rivers, lakes or seas and polluting them will impact everyone. That is why people who seek to protect the environment are major concerns.