The society would benefit from a ban of all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purposes and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In today's contemporary era, many people often debate about the role of advertisements. Some think it should be banned as it has numerous demerits, but in my opinion, I strongly think that advertisements should be regulated by governing bodies instead of banned as they are vital for businesses in today's competitive market. The primary advantage of advertisements is that it helps individuals learn all the latest information about available products and services in the market. Therefore, when consumers are informed with up-to-date information, they are able to compare the prices, quality, and quantity of the competitor's products. As a result, they can make wise decisions and save a lot of money, which otherwise might not be possible. For instance, my mother always compares the prices of coles and Woolworths products in the catalogue, before grocery shopping. There are, however, some disadvantages of advertisements, that has a negative impact on society. Firstly, many businesses promote products like tobacco, alcohol, and unhealthy food which have a severe impact on some community members, especially juveniles. Consequently, they develop bad habits and deteriorate their health condition. For example, many youngsters today prefer eating fast food like pizzas and burgers instead of home-cooked food because these foods look very attractive on endorsements. In conclusion, although endorsing products and services do have a negative effect on the community, it also has a number of benefits. So rather than putting a permanent ban on them, local governments can play a key role by keeping a check on them and should modify them before releasing them to the general public.