Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on the issue of traffic accidents, some believe that rigorous laws and penalties should be implemented in order to ameliorate the traffic problem, while others assert that to tackle the issue, other manners can be as constructive as well. From my perspective, I believe both approaches are conducive to enhancing road safety. On the one hand, implementing strict punishments can form a deterrent to prevent drivers and other road users from making avoidable mistakes as well as attach more importance to the traffic issue. In modern days, various penalties have been implemented with the aim of tackling different traffic issues, from small fines to prison, and even life sentences, these punishments have proven useful to reduce the likelihood of causing traffic accidents and successfully heightened the awareness of the mass toward road safety. For example, in Taiwan, the outcome of imposing punishment is prominent, after the penalties aims for drunken driving were enhanced and the penalty was heightened, the incident that arises from it has substantially declined. On the other hand, though heavy punishments can be one practical way to deter individuals from causing traffic issues, other methods can exert the same utility without punishing people. One viable method is introducing education. By offering the young generation the proper knowledge and concept about road safety, it can alleviate the problem from a more basic aspect. Another feasible approach is to pay more focus to safe road design. For example, the government can offer more lucid road signs and set up speed bumps to warn people not to drive over speed, meanwhile setting up speed cameras to form a deterrent. In conclusion, while heavy punishments can prevent dangerous driving, I believe other measures can be introduced to alleviate the traffic problem.