The internet is probably the most significant invention of the last 30 years. Without it, our lives would be completely different. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the internet invaded our day-to-day routine and changed our lives in multiple ways. It is now considered one of the most important inventions of the last decades. Personally, I partially agree with the fact that it is the most significant change that happened and this essay will discuss my point of view in the following paragraphs. First of all, the internet has many benefits. One of them would be the ability to easily find information on multiple websites, and that makes research, for example, faster as opposed to old times when it was necessary to attend libraries to look for books. Moreover, the digital world makes communication with friends and relatives much easier by using social media platforms, and this phenomenon has a positive impact on humans. An example to illustrate that would be how social media worked in our favour during the Covid pandemic by keeping us close to our families and mates even when we couldn't physically gather. However, on the other hand, the internet has some drawbacks that would impact us negatively. Firstly, the rates of addiction to smartphones increased in the last decades due to our incapacity to disconnect from the digital world and our increasing need to keep scrolling through social media. Additionally, cyberspaces can be dangerous places for kids, especially without adult supervision, because they are exposed to multiple hackers and unknown identities. Many countries, for instance, put an age limit on certain websites to protect young users, particularly those below 18 years old. To summarize, I personally think that this invention has many benefits and drawbacks. However, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in my opinion, as it can be useful by making our lives easier, but it should be used cautiously and reasonably as well.