Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer work and personal calls at any time, 7 days a week. Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Mobile phones have become readily available for modern people, enabling easy access to various phone calls at any time. While embracing this innovation and appreciating its benefits, people have largely recognized the detrimental effects on individuals and society. In my opinion, the negative influences outweigh the positive ones. Undeniably, the high accessibility of phone calls promotes efficiency on both individual and society level. For the general public, they have achieved a much higher productivity in workplace, because work communications are no longer impeded by geographical barriers and time restriction. Likewise, personal connections have been made so convenient that any family member or friend seems only a phone call away. In turn, the whole society gains an increased speed of information exchange and overall economic development, since the mobile communication industry associates the whole world in every sense. However, the drawbacks of this always-on culture have emerged and alarmed the public. Overwhelming phone calls from work perplex and disturb individuals’ daily life, blurring the boundary between personal life and work and giving rise to a society where most working population find it formidable to achieve work- life balance. Another insidious danger lies in public health and safety, because the obsession with phone calls can lead to various ill habits, such as answering mobile phone while driving. For society, this trend also poses negative repercussions in the long run. The public social relation has become more indifferent than before, precisely due to readily accessible phone calls. In other words, people have been so drawn to the idea of making a call that they are alienating each other in real life. This breakdown of social bonding would further endanger the sustainability of social structure. In conclusion, while admitting the positive influences of people being able to connect with mobile phones, I personally contend that the downsides are more significant for both individuals and the society, considering the damage to our current life and possible long-term consequences.