Many psychologists believe that social media is the main reason for stress of people in the modern life. Do you agree?

It is true that a vast majority of psychologists consider social media as the main cause of stress in today’s life. Personally, due to several reasons, I completely agree that social networks play a vital role in boosting stress among people. Without any doubt, social media is time-consuming. Whenever people open social network platforms like Instagram or Youtube, they unconsciously lose track of time since these new channels are incredibly attractive and addictive. Therefore, when they put their smartphones away, there is a very short time left for necessary activities or even emergent tasks such as paying attention to family members, doing chores, taking a shower, and much more besides. This simply creates a high level of stress in the users’ minds because they have not met the deadlines. Additionally, social networks are too many informative. Thanks to spreading a huge amount of information every second, a wrong culture has been formed among people meaning that they are supposed to keep themselves up-to-date with all relevant or irrelevant knowledge. Accordingly, their minds get overloaded and cannot process the recently entered data. It naturally leads them to lose their concentration and become stressed. If a great deal of information is in, the peace of mind is out. Moreover, becoming frequently over-informed following the last news which is mainly unpleasant makes the users more worried. In conclusion, I firmly believe that having a continuous connection with the modern virtual world is stressful as it is time-wasting and overwhelmingly informative.