Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

People have different ideas about patriotism and its effects on society. Although this belief has some drawbacks, it is argued that there are more benefits. On the one hand, the feeling of loving a country has some disadvantages. It may cause many compatriots to deliberately ignore the latest changes or improvements happening around the world, because they have a discredited ideology of superiority which is biased towards our own identity, possibilities, talents, abilities, and generally the current situation. For example, people living in the North Korea who are mainly loyal to their country and leader, usually do not know how massive changes are occurring around the world. Accordingly, they remain isolated, and cannot go through the modern world. On the other hand, it can be considered that the advantages of devotion to a country are even more significant. The benefits can be categorized in economic and social groups. Firstly, when people love their countries, they try to do everything to find their country developed economically. For instance, the wealthy people do not send their money out and invest in the potential sectors of their local community. Accordingly, the rate of employment and then, economic growth increases. Secondly, the patriotic people are usually eager to their local believes, customs, history, and religion. They are naturally into keeping and passing down the social values to the next generation. In conclusion, it seems that the economic and social benefits of a vigorous support of the country outweigh the drawbacks.