Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views.

It has been argued by some, that law should fix harsh penalties for each crime, regardless of the factors leading to committing them. While others reject this claim, as they consider the judges' job is found to announce fair judgment for each case separately according to the given proofs and facts for each case. The advocates of the first claim stress the point of community safety, as they consider excluding criminals from societies for any crime would guarantee safety for everyone. In the sense that,if people were aware that lawyers could not help them to escape loopholes in the law and they may face long years sentences behind bars they would not participate in any action to break the law. an example to illustrate this point is that many studies have shown that the first reason young people give for the question, (what prevents you from committing a crime?), was the jail. in other words, people are afraid of spending their life in jail with other murderers. The opponents of this opinion insist, that sometimes people could sign fake documents or get involved in work against the law because of a lack of knowledge. They also highlight that some could kill in self-defence or by mistake. Therefore, judges are entitled to give them fair punishment as long as they did not endanger others or they were not re-offenders of crimes. For example, a huge number of people around the world were not sent to jail because the judge and the jury found them innocent. to conclude, the aforementioned points clearly show that, the key factor to enforce the law is by finding firm punishments for those who introvok law. However, it also stresses the importance of judgment to effectively apply the law fairly and honestly.