In many country, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after birth of the newborn. Do you think that the advantages of the maternity leave outweigh its disadvantages?

In numerous countries, the birth mother is entitled to take maternity leave after their childbirth during the initial month. Taking the above statement into consideration, I will elaborate on the pros and cons of maternity leave., First of foremost, childbirth is a crucial step in a woman’s life. They are entering to a whole new world with more responsibilities and challenges to take up in life. During the nine months of the child being inside the mother ’s stomach, the child gets very close to their birth mother for the next few months until they reach one year. The World Health Organisation has stated that it is mandatory to allow working pregnant mothers to take necessary leave when required, since this stage is when the child needs their mother for breastfeeding. For example, in Sri Lanka 30% of some organisations allow a child ’s father to take leave for a maximum of three months to support the mother, whilst in developed countries such as the,UK it is mandatory that the father takes paternity leave. The benefit of maternity leave is that mother gets an opportunity to bond with their newborn baby with no work stress. If not, it won’t be an easy task for the mothers to handle it smoothly. Secondly, to discuss the drawback, after the standard 12 weeks of maternity leave, it becomes difficult for the biological mother to leave their child at home while she’s at work. Before she leaves to work, she prepares her child ’s essentials to provide during the day. After a long,break it becomes difficult for the female to adjust to the normal working life which leads to stress, lack of focus and less efficiency. Evidence in this matter appears to be that in Sri Lanka at least 40% of women resign from their jobs due to this reason. In conclusion, it is crucial to provide maternity leave for women. To overcome the disadvantage organisations to look at the options of maintaining a daycare centre inside the premises where the mothers get the opportunity to see their children during their breaks.