In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, there are certain individuals who absorb information on the internet. Although storing information online has some drawbacks, I am firmly convinced that the benefits are more significant. On the one hand, some demerits of storing information on the internet have to be put forward. To begin with, the information uploaded on the internet can be non-selective because everyone can upload any information without being censored. Thus, these pieces of information may become unreliable. Therefore, it may be difficult for individuals to identify what is right or wrong. In addition, using the internet to obtain information is not always available. This is mainly because people do not always have the ability and devices to access the internet. For example, it is hard for users to get any information when the wifi is disconnected, but they can read a paper book at any time. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that using online sources to acquire knowledge is more efficient. The first reason is that the internet provides readers with an unlimited source of knowledge. As a result, it is easier for them to study and research to find anything with a few clicks. For instance, Wikipedia is an example that provides information on all fields to the public. The second reason is that the use of the internet for information brings certain convenience to students and teachers. To illustrate this point, a lot of schools have their own online libraries for their students. By doing this, students can borrow books to study at home without having to go to their schools. In conclusion, while there could be some troubles when storing knowledge on the internet such as non-selective information and the difficult access in certain situations, I firmly believe that the merits regarding convenience and the amount of information outweigh the demerits.