International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages

In this day and age, thanks to the development of tourism, tourists can travel between countries without any difficulties. I personally believe that the benefits of this trend are more significant than its drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several demerits when there are too many tourists coming to an area. First, with a large number of visitors, the natural environment could be badly damaged. The fact that too many travelers flock to a destination may result in the deterioration of its natural landscape. Also, a lot of trees might be cut down in order to make room for resorts, hotels or tourist attractions. Second, a blend of many different cultures can be caused by the visiting of numerous tourists every year. Visitors coming from many other foreign countries could have an impact on the original culture of the host country. As a result, the traditional culture of a country or area might be commercialized by local residents in order to make income. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the positive points of this trend are more considerable. To begin with, it is undeniable that tourism plays a fundamental role in a country ’s economy. Money coming from travelers every year can contribute a lot to the GDP of a country. Also, there are numerous jobs such as working as a hotel receptionist or serving at a restaurant created for people, especially local ones, who live in tourist cities. Moreover, the image of a country could be promoted and become widely known thanks to visitors. Thus, more and more people may have certain knowledge about that country, which may in turn attract more visitors. In conclusion, there are lots of downsides when international traveling becomes easier. However, it is my firm belief that the upsides regarding/in terms of economy and culture are weightier.