Many psychologists believe that social media is the main reason for stress of people in the modern life. Do you agree?

It is argued by a lot of psychologists that spending time on social media networks can definitely impose a great deal of stress on people's modern lives. While I know that social media apps have some drawbacks, I do believe that they are not the primary source of stress in our day-to-day life, and they have lots of positive points. On the one hand, without any doubt, social media networks have some detrimental effects. Maybe the most eye-catching one is their harmful effects on our physical and mental health. In regard to stress, since we are prone to face lots of bad and disappointing news on social media, in particular about financial problems, natural disasters, and sad stories of people, it may cause many stresses. In addition, when people spend more time on social media, it means that they have less time to meet their families, friends, and acquaintances face to face, which may lead to an assumption that they have to tackle all of their problems individually, and may breed stress. On the other hand, using social media apps has created windows of opportunity for our modern lives. To be precise, spare a thought for someone who lives far from their home. Employing social media apps like Telegram, they can easily make a video call and see each other. Additionally, people are using social media these days to find new friends or partners. Apart from the aforementioned reasons behind the positive applications of these apps, a lot of people use them to find a new job, take new courses, apply for an academic position and to have a bright future, which can improve their mood. To conclude, there is a belief among many psychologists that social media is to blame for most stresses nowadays. Although social media has some side effects, which can lead to imposing stress, it is not the most important reason behind people's stress, in my book.