Goverments should spend money on railways rather than roads

In the modern world, transportation is an essential element in our daily life. The debate about whether the authorities should focus on the development of railways or roads. Some people argued that the government should allocate more funds to railways instead of roads. In my opinion, I agree that the government ought to give priority to the construction of railroads since it is safer, economical and environment-friendly. As far as safety is concerned, the railway system offers safer commuting for both passengers and commodities. The numbers of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries, for example, are far higher than that of railway accidents. Thus investing in a safer mode of transit is a much more prudent idea. Moreover, it is obvious that when a country has extensive rail networks, it will positively affect the logistic cost. The selling price of many goods would be cheaper as a consequence of a greater transport capacity. For instance, a single locomotive could carry several hundred tonnes of crops, goods or liquor. Furthermore, by building integrated subway stations in city areas, traffic congestion should be avoided. For example, as Singapore has a very good train network, called MRT, most people rarely drive in their vehicles. As a result, Singapore is free from traffic congestion. On the other hand, from an environmental point of view, road-based transport produces more carbon dioxide and causes more air pollution than rail systems. They are contributing to global warming which threatens our life on earth. Overall, as far as these factors are concerned, railway transportation could be invested more by the government in terms of its safety, convenience, economy and environmental protection. I believe that allocating more resources to railways is beneficial not only to human beings but also to the ecological environment.