In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays,in many countries,city dwellers prefer staying alone or in small family units over large family groups. I find this trend to be a positive development as it helps them in being independent and focusing on their careers. I will elaborate on these ideas in the writing that follows. First of all, living alone or in a micro family helps one inculcate the characteristic of self-dependency. Working people who stay on their own,do their household chores and other maintenance work besides their demanding jobs. They do not rely on others for their work and make this habit for a lifetime. Not only does this shape an individual into an independent person but also a confident and audacious human being who faces life atrocities with courage. Second of all, people get to focus on their careers and studies when residing in solitude or in small families. With the overcrowding size of families, students and working professionals are not able to concentrate on their studies and careers as they are always occupied with the personal matters of macro families. Indeed, this takes away their focus and dedication, thus limiting their achievements and creating an intellectual deficit. Take the example of two pupils preparing for an administrative exam, one lives alone and another lives in a big extended family. The former will have all day to study, but the latter might struggle to find buffer time for study as he might be involved in family gatherings, festival preparations and other time-consuming tasks. This is also true of a small family. Hence, I think that one makes a good career for him when he does not have many attachments and engagement with big groups. In conclusion, city people become self-dependent and career-oriented given that they are residing in a micro family or alone instead of in large relative groups. I believe, the concept of ''small family, happy family'' is apt for the overall development of an individual.