Do you think that advertising encourages people to buy things that they don’t want?

Advertisements these days have taken various forms. We see new, innovative as well as creative advertisements for products and services in different medias. However, does advertisement encourage people to buy things that they do not want? While some may agree that it does, I believe it does not. Advertisements help us know about the different products and services available in the market. I also believe that advertisements introduce us to the products that we did not know existed. For instance, the Roomba is one such product that is used to clean the floors. It works on its own without any human intervention. While one may say it is unnecessary, it actually saves the cleaning time for many individuals. In today's busy world, people are constantly looking for products that will save them their time. The same can be said about services. Advertisements not only makes us aware of the products, but also help us understand its features, uses and disclaimers, if any. It also helps us understand the warranties and guaranties, if any. Overall, you will find all the relevant details in the advertisements. Some people believe that advertisements lure us to buy the products we dont need. For example, different clothing brands release new and trendy advertisements that influences the youngsters especially, to buy more and more clothes to be in trend. Although, they might not need those many clothes. In conclusion, it depends from person to person how they perceive different advertisements. Advertisement can just make you aware of the products, it depends on the individual whether they should purchase it or not. Therefore, I believe that advertisement does more good than harm and its benefits outweigh its disadvantages.