An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

More and more experts in education and medicine are migrating from their poor regions to developed nations owing to higher salaries and more opportunities for their careers. However, this situation currently causes numerous issues for their countries and several measures should be taken to quickly solve these problems. Human capital flight or “brain drain” brings about a great number of problems, especially for developing countries. The increase in professionals moving to foreign nations leads to a lack of human resources, which then results in an overload in the industries. Therefore, the residents must pay higher costs than before for those services such as education and medical care. Subsequently, this will create financial burdens on both the governments and families due to the high demands compared to low supplies. Moreover, the hindrance in the development of many economic sectors is also attributed to brain drain. Professionals are not only the primary factors to evaluate the advancement of every sector, but they also contribute to progress. As a consequence, insufficiency in human resources is a culprit for difficulties in national growth. In order to prevent human capital flight, governments need to be aware of the current situation and quickly take action. Firstly, an increase in the salary of these jobs would make specialists reconsider going abroad as incomes are the dominant influence on their intentions. If these skilled workers are met their requirements for wages domestically, there is no need to migrate to other developed regions. Another measure is providing further training and promotion opportunities for experts, which encourages them to take part in the development of every industry. This solution will have governments maximize human resources instead of wasting their talents and values. To elucidate, the decrease in the number of domestic experts is an alarming issue that many developing countries have to face. Therefore, measures should be taken wisely and timely by the authorities before the situation worsens.