Some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violent influence on TV and at the cinema. Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been increasing concerns about the circulation of movies with elements of brutality. While some contend that the government should establish boundaries for violent content, others argue that these films must be banned. In my opinion, violence in shows should only be limited. On the one hand, it is understandable why violent films should be banned, because they can leave a negative influence on people’s psyches. Due to the internet and pirated movie websites, if not supervised carefully, children can gain access to age-inappropriate content. In the case of adults, the popularity of villain protagonists can lead to misunderstandings that the antisocial behaviours portrayed are encouraged. What is alarming is these young people are impressionable and therefore, can establish riotous behaviours after prolonged exposure. For example, in Japan, a 24-year-old man dressed up as “The Joker” - a notorious fictional villain - and set a train on fire after stabbing fellow passengers. However, the majority of individuals can set a boundary between real life and fiction, thus, banning violent films is rather excessive. On the other hand, violent movies are a form of entertainment for a part of audiences and therefore, should not be prohibited. These viewers find joy from the thrill and excitement offered by violent elements in flicks, so forbidding their hobbies for the sake of a minority of audiences equals practising injustice upon these individuals. Furthermore, without action, moviemakers will lack a key ingredient in building films ’ charms. Nowadays, 90% of movies are sprinkled with cruelty, as even the slightest form of physical conflict can be considered violent. Consequently, filtering savage elements will be a tantalizing task and oftentimes impossible as it would dull the plotline. Therefore, the optimal solution would be to restrict the appearance of gratuitous and extreme cruelty in motion pictures. In conclusion, although there are reasonable arguments as to why violent films must be banned, the best solution is to regulate violent content based on their levels.