Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rapid increase of supermarkets in some parts of the world has overshadowed local businesses ' abilty to compete. While some hold the view that this trend willcan will can lead to the extinction of local communities, I disagree with this assumption for two main reasons. First, the expansion of supermarkets and department stores will provide alternative opportunities for those who will lose their occupations. Second, this pattern of development will create a window of novel opportunities for the community. The first reason I oppose the above-mentioned statement is that although the development of large supermarkets in an area will exert a negative impact on small shops, this provides other jobs for those whose buisinesses get closed. Consequently, the their owners can work for the newly openned department stores, a phenomenon observed in many neighborhoods. For example, numerous observations in a multitude of cities in Iran have indicated that large supermarkets tend to employ more than 76 per cent of the shop keepers who have lost thier jobs. On the other hand, the establishment of department stores in a place can introduce new ways of earning money. These large businesses demand a wiide range of marketing and advertising activities in a much broader scale compared with small shops. Another development could be the transportation and destribution of products, which should be conducted more extensively. Logically, this can offer far more opportunities for local people. For instance, a survey in Denmark has indicated that the openning of large businesses can create a wider range of occupations for local inhabitants, raising their income by 15 per cent. In summary, while some contend that the quick rise in the number of huge supermarkets thwart local businesses, I believe that this can not be the case because it can provide alternative jobs for individuals whose businesses are adversely affected. In addition, more diverse opportunities, such as marketing and transportation, are offerd by the establishment of large department stores.