Some people think that scientists experimenting animals in a laboratory is the only way we can guarantee new products will be safe for human use. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Animal testing – the use of animals in laboratory experiments – is a topic that/which has polarised public opinion. Many people opine that it is the only way to ensure product safety for human use. This essay sheds light on reasons why I totally disagree with this opinion. It is understandable why a lot of people are convinced that using animals is the one and only way to make certain that a product is safe for humans. Animal is the only alternative to human since it have the living body, of which organs resemble those of human. Besides that, animals are farmed in large quantities while humans are unique and irreplaceable. A person taking the risk of participating in laboratory experiments can lead to the opposition from family members, therefore, they are against the act of volunteering for safety test. However, there is no denying that advancing technology has ushered in many viable alternatives to animal testing. One approach is to replace animal with algorithm. To be more specific, computational model can be developed to crunch research data, hence comparing tested chemicals and new, untested ones with a similar structure. Since computational model can make reliable prediction about the toxicity of the untested chemial, we can avoid the use of innocient animals. Moreover, one other novel way is to culture human cells. Given the fact the human cells can mimic the functioning of human organs, test on the simplified version of organs can deliver more human-relevant results than animal experiments. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that animal testing has laid foundations for important discoveries, there are several promising alternatives to the use of living animals in experiments. Concerns over ethics, efficiency and human relevance have driven the hunt for other alternatives.