Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage to consume less sugar. Do you agreed or disagree ?

Nowadays sweetener is added to foods especially dessert, bakery and snack and it results in an increase in obesity in children. However, it becomes controversial when the government regulate the policy to increase the price of sweet products to control obesity. This will be discussed in the essay. Firstly, the increase of price in the sweet products are not a long-term solution, but the government should encourage the school to educate the students to understand the benefits and drawback of sugars. For example, Japan is the country which experienced similar issues that Japanese is likely to consume sugar -added tea which caused obesity in children. Once they saw the sign of the problem, all the schools in Japan added the dietary in the course to educate the students to review the ingredient label and suggest the proper amount of sugar which should consume a day. Moreover, all beverage companies were encouraged by the government to show the ingredient with the amount on their product labels. Additionally sugar is widely used in various industries and it is unavoidable that some product which has sugar as the ingredient will be under this policy. Moreover, this is not only result for the individual, but it will have an enormous impact on farmers who grow the sugarcane. It is like a domino effect from the overpricing of sugar which collapsed into other business industries and finally the people are the ones to bear this burden. Regards to reasons, I disagreed that the tax policy on carbohydrate is the right solution for this problem. People should learn how to advantage and disadvantages of carbohydrate and make the decision on their own opinions. The government should not intervene in this.