2. Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The discussion of who might give the education to juveniles regarding the consequences of crimes has always been in the limelight. It is proposed by some that the reformed ex-prisoners can best serve this role. However, I cannot agree with this proposal because reformed ex-offenders may not have specific communication skills to teach teenagers, and instead, police officers are more suitable for this role. On the one hand, well-reintegrated previous offenders may not have the sets of skills to communicate with youngsters about the dangers of committing a crime. Admittedly, it has been suggested that they can offer the information about their own sufferings from crimes and the damage to their family, which are powerful statements to warn teenagers about criminality. Unfortunately/ however, having knowledge and experience does not necessarily make them good teachers, and not everyone knows how to communicate well with teenagers unless they have some training. Accordingly, in China, if reformed ex-prisoners desire to facilitate educational projects for juveniles, they must obtain the corresponding communication certification. On the other hand, many parents and teachers would argue that police could better demonstrate the outcomes and preventive measures of crimes. Firstly, they could not only speak from their own experiences of witnessing the harm to victims, but also provide stories of various crimes causing different consequences, along with how to prevent and even stop crimes. Furthermore, police are professionally trained communicators and educators through their training and work, particularly for vulnerable populations like teenagers. For instance, in Canada, the local policemen work closely with high schools providing ongoing educational sessions about crimes, where feedback from students and parents was extremely positive. They sang highly about the sessions as compelling and educational, and more importantly, all speakers know how to deliver information using appropriate languages. In conclusion, although reintegrated ex-prisoners may use their own experiences to educate teenagers about crimes ’ harm, I strongly believe that they need some training before taking this role, and police officers are far better educators on crime topics for teenagers audiences. The discussion of who could/might give the best education to juveniles regarding the consequences of crimes has always been in the limelight. It is proposed by some that the reformed ex-prisoners can best serve this role. However, I cannot agree with this proposal because police officers are more suitable for this role, and having conversations with adolescents requires specific communication skills.