Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people feel that unhealthy food and drinks should be banned according to research which demonstrates the medical consequences fast food causes. I am in disagreement with this proposal as I think this is an individual choice and shouldn’t be mandatory. Firstly, there is a lot of research showing that fast food can increase cardiovascular risk factors due to a large number of additives, sugars and saturated fats. Reducing consumption of these kinds of meals and beverages can significantly decrease the incidence and morbidity of high cholesterol and diabetes, which further saves more funding for medical expenses. And with well-established eating habits, the elderly could live better life quality and enjoy their retirement times instead of staying in hospitals. However, it is vital that this eating habit be the sole choice of everyone, as prohibiting unhealthy meal purchasing may breed resentment towards food laws. The reason for this is that people are naturally averse to doing anything which seems imposed on them, especially without reward. Consequently, this resentment may then lead to binge eating and consumption of more harmful meals and beverages. In contrast, if people choose to follow instructions from nutritionists, this is more likely for their self-discipline and self-monitoring, contributing to their general health. So I think informing the side effects of fast food is more efficient than prohibiting them simply. In conclusion, although banning unhealthy meals and beverages may help people improve their health conditions, I believe such a policy should not be compulsory as this may foster negativity towards the laws.