In some cultures, children’s are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Different cultures have different beliefs. In some cultures, it is believed that there is no substitute for hard work and hence, parents constantly tell their offspring that anything can be achieved if they try hard enough. Though it can be advantageous to them, it can be disadvantageous too. In a way, it is necessary to inculcate the discipline of hard work in the younger generation. It will not only help them in their formative years but also as adults. Hard work helps us in all walks of life. For example, students who study hard in school usually score good marks and get into a good university and land a good job. In the same way, by working hard at your job, you can get promotions, a better salary and other benefits. However, sometimes even after hard work, we do not get what we want. Moreover, such a situation can bring disappointment in children. If it happens more than once, they will stop believing in hard work. For instance, if we tell a child that if you practice enough, you will win the running race and if the child does not win and if this happens more than once, the child will think of it as a lie. He or she might not put as much effort into other things. Children should be taught that it is okay to sometimes fail, as failure is a part and parcel of life. In conclusion, teaching children to endeavor hard is necessary as it increases the probability of their success. However, they should also be taught how to be realistic, so they are prepared to face the failure that comes along the way.