The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that it will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disasvantages to having one language in the world?

English language may become the only language spoken in the world in the future owing to the developments in tourism sector. The trend would bring positive as well as negative changes into the world. There are two principal benefits of having only one language. Firstly, people would not need to spend time on studying a new language to widen their opportunities. At the present time, many people spend years to learn English because it is needed for their education or work. Education institutions in England, for example, require a high level of English proficiency. Secondly, it is much easier to understand other people when they speak the same language as you since it minimizes misconceptions between different cultures and countries. Nevertheless, these benefits do not overweigh the disadvantages of having only one language. English or any other language becoming the only language spoken would destroy the diversity of the world and alienize some cultures. Languages are strongly attached to the history and play the major role in the culture development. Having one language would result in cultures being similar to each other. This, therefore, will lead to destruction of the cultures that have been developing for decades. In addition, the trend might lead to the alienization of some cultures since some people still would speak the language better than others. This is because it has been proven that adapting to a new language as a nation may take up to a decade. In conclusion, the population of the planet speaking one language has positive sides as well as negative sides. However, disadvantages of the trend are far greater than advantages since the diversity of cultures may be harmed.