Young are encouraged to take a year off after finishing high school in before the university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

In certain countries, youngsters are encouraged to explore real-time experiences such as work or travel before starting their university life. While there are many benefits to it, there are also some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, we will investigate both the positive and negative aspects of it. The main advantages of taking a gap year are getting a chance to learn more about the world and earning money. For students who just have finished their secondary school, working or traveling for a year will provide more sense to them on how difficult life can be outside of the education system and make them responsible towards it. Furthermore, higher education is very expensive and a lot of students choose to work for 12 months and save up money before they begin their studies. For instance, the British magazine recently reported that the average student at a UK university requires over £12,000 per annum to survive and many drop out because they cannot afford to pay. Despite these positive impacts, this year gap, unless used properly, can negatively affect their CV forms when applying for competitive jobs in the future and they get used to working or traveling and do not want to return to a life of study. For example, according to BBC news, 45% of Myanmar students take a gap year and most of them do not want to study again for university as they are used to working and earning money. In conclusion, the new tradition of teenagers to work before their university studies consists of not only merits, but also many demerits in their beginning of public life.