Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that crime is a perennial problem of public concern, how to combat crime effectively for increased public well-being has been a much-debated topic. I contend that incarceration is much less effective in curbing illegalities, and training is a holistic approach to this issue. It is justifiable to consider prison sentences as a futile measure to reduce misconduct rates. Firstly, such a solution would frighten criminals off repeating crimes, thus reducing the risk of reoffending. Secondly, for those who have criminal intentions, this policy may act as a deterrent, making them think twice before indulging in illegal acts. However, this reasoning seems invalid as imprisonment proves its effectiveness only for those who already commit crimes or are about to do so, but this approach would fail to promote educational values which can tackle misconduct from the root. Instead of putting offenders behind bars, I believe that education is a more effective crime -fighting solution due to its far stronger preventive values. To begin with, the government should put more effort into providing adults with vocational training and job opportunities, empowering them to escape the poverty trap. This would contribute to solving the unemployment problem, which is thought to be inextricably linked to infraction issues. Besides that, crime schooling should be included in their school curriculum to ensure that younger people are fully aware of the grave repercussions of breaking the law and ways to refrain from it. As part of this scheme, reformed prisoners could be invited as speakers who inform students about the lifelong consequences of crime, dispelling any ideas of illegal conduct. In conclusion, while acknowledging the infeasibility of prison sentences in tackling crime, I consider education as a preventative measure that helps address the root of the problem.