Goverment has responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety.Therefore,some people think that the goverment should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Social benefits help in the growth of the country. I partially disagree with the statement that the government should invest more in defence rather than social benefits for the safety of their citizens. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in the subsequent paragraph. Government should invest some money in improving their defence so that there will be no terror attacks on the country. To elucidate, if a country has a weak defence system then a terrorist or other dangerous organization will try to attack more on the country. But if countries has good weapons and the latest high-tech technologies, it will not be easy for any organizations to attack the country. Moreover, citizens will feel more secure in the country. On the other hand, corporations should invest money towards social benefits like food assistance. This assistance will prevent people from dying because lack of food eating. To illustrate, the US government provide food stamps to people who are homeless. This initiative has helped in reducing death caused by lack of food by 10 per cent. In addition to this, they can also invest in improving the healthcare in the country so that any individual can get treatment without any money. This will help also help in defending people who can’t afford to perform treatment for their disease. For instance, Canada is providing security to their citizens through free healthcare. Any individual can go to any doctor or hospital and get their treatment for free. In conclusion to this, I partially disagree with the statement that they should only invest more in defence of the country. I think, they should invest more in other benefits such as healthcare, food assistance or housing assistance so that their citizens can live their lives without any issues.