It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

I strongly believe that learning to grow vegetables and inhabiting animals at an early stage by children is beneficial for their overall growth and would result in the betterment of society. With the advancement in technology, we have almost forgotten our older ways to get vegetables and dairy products for our daily needs. Easy access to supermarkets has reduced the value of learning to grow vegetables and inhabiting cattle, cows which used to be the main source of milk in earlier times. Today, everything is readily available at our doorsteps that we have almost forgotten the real source of our food items. Spreading awareness regarding the same is of utmost importance for future generations to come. For example: practising sowing seeds into the ground and watering them daily will not only bind kids with our historical values but also help them to understand the importance of life. Watching a seed grow into a whole vegetable is a beautiful process altogether. On the other hand, feeding animals and taking care of them will help nurture the feeling of love and togetherness. These types of learning will ensure that children will not hurt animals and plants in the coming years which is indeed a positive sign for the whole community. Therefore, we conclude that nonetheless other aspects of life are vital to learn but at the same time educating children regarding growing of vegetable and keeping animals is of utmost importance.