University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of studying aboard among university students is currently increasing. Although studying abroad can decrease their quality time with their parents and siblings, students can gain more academic achievements. In my opinion, studying oversea will give students more opportunities in many aspects, even though they have to be apart from their parents and siblings, but that will be worth it in their future life. The main advantage of studying overseas is that students have more opportunities to approach the higher education systems than in their own countries. Being in another country, students be able to study with more professional experts and be able to access high-quality studying materials that might be impossible to access if they are studying in their own countries. For example, when I studied in China as a Chinese medicine student as a twenty-year-old, I got many chances to study and practice with popular and expert Chinese medicine doctors, which is impossible in my country. Therefore, studying abroad is a great option for increasing academic achievements which is a great benefit for their careers. The great challenge of studying abroad is being apart from your supportive family and friends. Due to different time zones and long distance, students have less chance to see their family and friends than they used to, and being in faraway countries sometimes make them feel lonely and depressed. For example, when I first travelled to China by myself and had to prepare everything from accommodation to transportation on my own which was difficult for me and made me feel very lonely and nervous, at that time, I just hoped that my family and friends be there with me. Therefore, it is very hard to study abroad because you might end up feeling unhappy and depressed for the whole time of your stay. In conclusion, studying overseas is challenging, but it is a great opportunity to approach high-quality educational resources which is the key to one’s success in the future. Even though studying in unfamiliar places is extremely challenging but it might be the ultimate experience which would be beneficial in forthcoming careers. In my opinion, I believe that studying oversea is more advantageous than disadvantageous.