what are the pros and cons for children of watching tv

In this modern age, letting children watch television is becoming increasingly popular. Young ones, they can easily be addicted to watching vibrant images and hilarious characters shown on tv programs. However, there are both pros and cons to this matter. In this essay, I will delve into the advantages and disadvantages of children watching small screens. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of children watching tv. In terms of education, watching tv is an effective method for kids. Not only can they understand moral stories through cartoons but they can also accumulate knowledge about life around them through nature programs. This is the particular case for learning about the animal world, watching wild creatures on tv provides children with visual and lively pictures without them actually going to the forest to see animals. Secondly, parents are likely to have more spare time. While the kid is indulging itself in the programmes, parents can be able to do their own thing such as resting and they don’t have to always keep the child entertained. Turning to the otherside of the argument, watching tv is also harmful to children. Firstly, it is likely inevitable for children to see inappropriate scenes. Although parents can set up Adblock on their tv, 35% children will still accidentally watch a violent advertisement or moment containing bloody animal fighting scenes according to The Guardian in 2015. Secondly, TV addiction has numerous adverse effects on childrens’ health. their eyes are susceptible to blue light, which makes the eyes weaker. The number of children wearing glass is becoming more and more common these days. In addition, kids tend to spend hours fixing their eyes on tv channels so they don’t have enough time or are too lazy to do physical activities that benefit their health such as doing exercise. Therefore, it leads to a sedentary lifestyle. To conclude, tv plays a vital role in providing background knowledge for children and letting their parents have some more time to rest but it also can’t be denied that small screen programmes can lead to eye disease and an inactive lifestyle.