Study show that criminals have a low level of education. For this reason some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or diagree?

Several pieces of research have shown that the level of crime has a positive correlation with the level of education. Because of that, some people believe that giving education to prisoners can help on reducing the level of criminal activities. While I agree with that statement to a certain degree, I do not believe that it is all that is required to solve this problem. To reduce crimes, we must define the causes and try to find a way to prevent them from the beginning. I will elaborate more on this in the following paragraphs. People who support this idea, believe that giving education to inmates, will help them get back into society, find a decent job and obtain a stable income and finally lessen the chance of them recommitting crimes again. While it can certainly be true, other factors must be aligned with it as well. For example, the education given to them must be useful and practical enough for them to adapt to their lives and careers later on. Moreover, there is still a stigma surrounding people with criminal records which make a lot of business refrain from hiring them. Hence, despite having an education, there is still a high chance that they will not find a decent job after getting out of prison. To tackle this issue, governments, businesses, and related organizations must encourage these practices and try to foster a better environment for them like release campaigns or programs to help incentify businesses to hire people with past criminal records. Furthermore, the reduce criminal activities, it is better to prevent them before it happens. Giving free education up to college, overall decent living wages, affordable healthcare, and housing are all the necessities one needs to achieve a proper lifestyle which will certainly decrease the chance of committing a crime in the first place. For example, from what we have seen in the news, despite not being true all the time. People who have committed a crime and get caught are mostly those who were unfortunate in life, stuck in poverty, and did not have a chance to do something better. In conclusion, while education is a really important factor in lowering the level of crime, it is not all that we need. Helping people to get on their feet, and giving them chance to be able to obtain better living conditions is a more sustainable way of dealing with this issue.