Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to an audience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Public speaking is an enormously important skill that can bring a lot of career opportunities to a person. However, a lot of people despite being technically skilled in their respective fields struggle greatly in this area which can be stemmed from several factors, and how this skill is not being taught in school is one of them. I strongly agree with the idea of teaching about presentation and public speaking to kids from a young age and I will elaborate more on this topic in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, having expertise in this area will help greatly in career advancement. In other words, it will help those who have these valuable skills to stand out from their competitors. The job market nowadays is competitive, and most people who career in big companies or prestigious organizations both local and international, are already skilled in the technical aspect of their jobs. Therefore, the thing that will make candidates stand out will be their ability to communicate and present complicated things in a rather simple manner. The most obvious example is most people who have executive-level positions in big companies, have the skill to communicate and connect with the audience. Additionally, these people are capable of doing impromptu on the go without any preparation. Secondly, to teach public speaking and presentation skill is to teach children to be more vocal and confident in their own opinion and not scared to speak their minds. To put it more simply, the way to successfully teach children to be good public speakers is to build their confidence which can benefit them in other aspects of their lives later on in the future. For instance, being confident help a person to have the courage to connect and build relationships with new people. In conclusion, helping children to improve their ability to present in front of the public is very essential and should be added to the course. Not only does it help them to increase their chance of getting decent jobs, but it also helps foster a good environment for children to grow up to be confident, self-assured adults who will not be afraid to take a challenge.