You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, an increase in awareness of the harmful influence of smoking has been observed. As a result, many people demand to ban smoking in public areas, while others claim that it would be a too radical step. Each of these views has both pros and cons. A lack of permission to smoke in public has many significant benefits. First and foremost, it would limit the occasions for smokers to smoke. Many of them reach for cigarettes in their free time, for instance, while going to the shop or to work; if such behaviour had been prohibited, they wouldn't have had so many opportunities to smoke. Furthermore, it would also have a positive impact on their environment. Many individuals, especially non-smokers, suffer from cigarettes smoke in public areas as it may cause harm; consequently, a ban on smoking would make the surroundings more friendly for everyone. On the other hand, there have been relevant drawbacks too. The most significant of them is the fact that such a ban won't help smokers quit. Individuals who smoke are usually addicted to it, thus, a prohibition in public places will not contribute to support them in their fight against the addiction. Therefore, such a law would be created only for the non-smoking part of society, disregarding the smoking ones, who need help to overcome addiction. In conclusion, I don't fully agree with the statement that smoking in public areas should be prohibited. Although it can have a positive impact on the environment as well as limit the occasions for smokers to smoke, it is not created to help them overcome their addiction, which should be done at the first instance.