Doctors in many countries say that people do not do enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this trend? How can the situation be improved?

There is a growing concern shown by health professionals worldwide that the masses are not undergoing sufficient fitness activities. This essay will discuss the causes for this trend such as hectic work schedules and lack of motivation along with solutions for improvement including time management and staying inspired. Nowadays exercising enough is not as popular as it was in the past mainly due to scarcity of time. This trend is on the rise as due to increasing competition in the workplace, working individuals tend to labour beyond the required hours and have no time to perform physical exercises. For example, despite being passionate about running, I used to run only on weekends as I could not manage time due to work. In addition to this, some of them do not feel motivated enough to follow a fitness schedule, particularly due to the lack of results. For instance, one of my friends joined a gym to lose weight but dropped off midway as there was no visible weight loss. Due to these reasons, people do not exercise well. Lifestyle diseases are on a rise and it is imperative people give serious thought to exercising well so that the situation can improve. Firstly, they should discuss with their bosses and agree upon the work timings and a sufficient portion of the time saved should be allocated for exercise. Secondly, they should look at ways to stay motivated. They can listen to inspiring stories, look out for workout partners and so on. Moreover, companies can also help and encourage fitness routines. To illustrate, my company has already started fitness campaigns and employees logging their physical effort in running, swimming, etc. get rewarded for achieving certain milestones. In all, better time management and motivation will help to sustain a fitness schedule. To summarize, this essay discussed the causes of this trend as to why individuals do not exercise enough along with ways to reverse it. Although people have a busy life and do not feel motivated enough to exercise, with better time management and inspiration they can undertake more physical activities than those undertaken today thereby leading to a decrease in lifestyle disorders.