Some people believe that restoration of old building costs too much. We should demolish them and build new one instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable truth that the old heritage buildings in a country showcase their cultural and historical values. However, because these buildings were constructed a very long time ago, they require high maintenance, and therefore, some people believe that the government should destroy them and build better well-planned buildings. I personally hold the same views as them because I feel such buildings are a liability for a country and their maintenance cost can be used for a better cause. I elucidate my stand in the following paragraphs. The first and foremost reason for destroying such buildings is that some nations are continuously fighting against the problem of overpopulation. In other words, some people are unable to buy a house, which they can call home because they are overpriced due to space. To exemplify, we can consider Mumbai, the financial capital of India, is overly crowded (more than 20 million people) and builders do not have space to build homes that can accommodate many families. Therefore, it does not make any sense to restore the old buildings, but instead, the site can be utilized to build high-rise buildings which can lower house prices. Furthermore, one more convincing point which can not be ignored is unemployment. These sites can be used to build shopping malls which add jobs to the market, and eventually, reduce the unemployment rate. To justify, I would quote the example of Infinity Mall that gives to over 2,000 employees, which is evidential proof of this phenomenon. On the other hand, no one can deny the demits of these buildings. The major adverse impact they have is they can be and kill many people. In conclusion, I recapitulate that there are innumerable strong arguments supporting demolishing old buildings as their restoration cost can be utilized for better reasons. Therefore, I firmly agree with the presented statement.