The first car appeared on British road 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In earlier years, commuting from one place to another was a cumbersome task however, with the passage of time a plethora of modes of convenience has been introduced globally. Although private vehicles on road have increased tremendously, public transport ought to be used more and conventions need to be obliged to curb the excessive selling of cars. I commend the above notion, the environment is being affected the most and to save money and time individuals should opt for general transport. To begin with, congestion on roads and extreme usage of loud horns has become the major cause of air and sound pollution. Moreover, if the pollution levels are not controlled within the stipulated time, it would be disastrous for all living beings. In a recent survey, for example, it was shown that 50 per cent of the ozone layer has been depleted and the survival years of living beings would be till 2030. Therefore, people should choose to travel by public transport instead of their own vehicles. Furthermore, private cars are preferred because they are more convenient to purchase and can be used to reach anywhere in no second. On the other hand, the government should make stringent laws that every person cannot afford to buy their own convenience and impose a high surcharge on such expenditures. For instance, in Germany, the regime has raised the prices of cars to motivate its citizens to use metro and rail services. In conclusion, I approve that rails, metros and other public transits should be utilized to save our mother earth and also the government would yield revenue.