Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, many people claim that universities should merely accept students with the flying colours of academic results, while others believe that every student should be provided with equal opportunities to access tertiary disciplines. In this essay, I would like to discuss both the merits and demerits of the phenomenon, and outline my personal opinion in the conclusion. To begin with, students with higher marks are far more deserved to enter institutes instead of dumb students who are always slow on uptake and cannot get head nor tail of what the teachers are explaining. This is because students having a good memory, logical thinking and management skills should be trained and studied intensively into their aptitude fields, resulting in talented citizens who will contribute to the development of the national economy as well as scientific achievements in the future. In addition, by offering academy study to solely a limited figure for students, professors and tutors can easily rate the students ’ level of ability and skills during the teaching process, resulting in high-quality graduates. For instance, National University of Medical, one of the most prestigious halls in Vietnam, only admit the top scorers in national university entrance exams in order to make sure that all recruiters are well-qualified and able to deal with a huge amount of specialized knowledge. On the other hand, many people debated that only accepting young students who are academically-gifted is unfair to students who do not do well at school. The understanding at school does not reflect their potential to succeed at university. So, it is immoral to decline requests from some students, especially in this society where formal degrees are considered to be more essential than hand-on experience when it comes to recruitment. Moreover, offering higher schooling to a high proportion of young people not only opens up an equal chance for students to have a better career in the future, but also helps maintain a diverse community, where each student is valued and rewarded for their abilities. In conclusion, I believed that university education should not be treated as a privilege only for students with high marks. And this will allow all graduates to continue their higher education, which will improve the society in the future due to higher employment rate.