Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people spend a considerable amount of time with smartphones each day and it is likely that this figure is only going to keep increasing. While modern-day technology like smartphones and Internet has enormous benefits, they can have a lot of negative effects on us as well, and losing touch with real-world interactions is one of them. I agree that if we are not careful enough, it certainly can destroy our ability to interact with people and I will elucidate more on this in the following topics. With how modern-day cellphones keep getting better and have more utilities, our lives require less effort to commit certain tasks that were previously required by human actions and judgment. For example, artificial intelligence in modern-day devices can instantly reply back messages or emails and can interact with people using sentiments that are very close to how humans would interact. Therefore, it requires less action from humans to do these tasks and as a result, people emotionally engage with each other less and worsen their abilities to interact with real human beings. Furthermore, social networks are also one of the factors that lead to less human interaction despite it’s being a tool for people to communicate. In the social media realm, everything is dynamic and changes quickly which leads to people consuming a lot of content every day with less and less attention. For instance, there is research showing how engaging too much with social networks can lead to people, especially kids and young adults greatly losing the ability to focus and concentrate and consequently, affecting their ability to study, interact with people, and overall development. In conclusion, regardless of how many advantages smartphones can bring to humanity, we must use them with care and awareness. Using smartphones too much can lead to us losing touch with the real world and destroy human interactions which are really essential to human development.