In some countries, people prefer to rent their home rather than buy one. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of renting a house?

Owning a home used to be the ultimate goal for people who want to build their lives and start a family. These days, things have changed and it became a norm for people especially younger generations to prefer renting rather than buying a house. While renting can have plenty of benefits, it certainly has some downsides as well and I will elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. The first and possibly the most relevant factor when making decisions for most people is that renting is a less financial strain choice. Buying a house is a very serious commitment, especially nowadays when the price of housing in several places is skyrocketing. Therefore, It requires financial and career stability which most younger generations do not possess. For instance, in prominent cities around the world, the price of buying properties can be incredibly high. Thus, renting might be a more viable alternative. Secondly, renting a house requires less need for maintenance since it is the responsibility of landlords. Thirdly, younger generations have the tendency to change jobs more often and are not ready to settle yet. Hence, renting is a more flexible option for them. Despite having a lot of advantages. Some of the drawbacks of renting instead of buying a home will be first, it requires moving every year or two and moving can be a difficult and daunting task with a lot of hassle and can lead to pieces of furniture and valuable items getting damaged. Second, buying housing means you permanently own the property. Renting on the other hand, even though the monthly renting price can be as high as the monthly instalment for buying a home, it still means that you do not get to own the property. In conclusion, renting became a more popular option for people in recent times due to the fact that it is a more affordable and flexible option that is more suitable for younger generations. However, it still has a lot of disadvantages take need to take into account.