Some people think the government should not spend on international aid because there are disadvantaged people in their own country, such as the unemployed and homeless. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The ever-growing population across many countries in the world has brought along with it many problems such as poverty, illiteracy and massive layoffs. To tackle these problems, many governments have allocated a large amount of resources. Given that all countries have their own problems to address, I agree with the argument that their priority should be given to their own disadvantaged people. There are many reasons for which I believe governments ought to attach more importance to their own people. To begin with, should those governments spend financial resources on international aids, they would sooner or later suffer from scarce funds considering the fact that many of them have already been in debt. Under such a circumstance, it indeed makes more sense to reserve the money for the development and maintenance of their own social security measures such as health services for the sick and shelters for homeless people. Also, focusing on their own people contributes to the improvement of "post-donation" experience of taxpayers. After all, the government collects budgets from average taxpayers, and the latter are usually more sensitive to the needy people from the same community. On the other hand, however, I would have to admit that donation to the poorer nations somehow plays a significant role in the process of achieving human decency and humanity. Without the aids from other countries, people living in impoverished regions may find it rather difficult to have their most fundamental survival needs satisfied. Stopping offering financial assistance to those people and meanwhile enjoying domestic prosperity, to some extent, is equivalent to indirectly depriving their last chance to survive, can lead to ethical challenges to the entire human society. In summary, despite the significance of relief aids to foreign countries, I still believe that the government should help their own disadvantaged residents first. After all, it is impossible for a single country to eliminate poverty and unemployment altogether.