Parents should encourage students to spend more time on academic programs instead of physical exercises. To what extent do you agree or not?

While it is a commonly held opinion for most parents nowadays that academic excellence is the most important aspect of children’s lives, it is not all that important for children’s development and well-being. Other activities such as physical exercises are crucial for students as well and I believe it is very important that parents and schools should pay attention to both aspects of children’s lives. To begin with, despite having great academic records being a definition of success for today’s society, it is not an ultimate goal for everyone. People can have the expertise and be successful in something else outside the academic realm. For example, a lot of successful athletes who are at the top of their fields have spent a lot of time practising since they were very young age. It is more important for parents to find out what are their children’s dreams and help them excel in their field of interest other than force them to study long hours for something they have no interest in. Secondly, physical exercise can help develop both great physical and mental health. Not only does exercise help people to achieve better physical conditions which will lower the probability of getting health problems but it can also give a sense of achievement and help improve the ability to concentrate on a certain task which leads to them doing better at school. Thirdly, by competing in sports activities, it teaches children to know what it feels like to win or lose and as a result, they can accept failure and move on quickly. Moreover, forcing children to study long hours and compete for academic excellence can cause a lot of stress for kids who are supposed to live a carefree lifestyle and can eventually lead to them facing several mental health issues. In conclusion, despite spending time on studying and academic programs is very essential because they might provide better career opportunities, it is not all that matters. People can be successful in different fields not just in academic areas. Furthermore, sport and exercise can help improve mental condition which is absolutely important for one’s life.