Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

People have different views about whether children should decide what they want in daily life by themselves. While a spirit of considerate can sometimes be appreciated by others, I believe that the ability of making decisions is more significant. On the one hand, children who deciding things by themselves are likely to become more independent in the future. Firstly, it is important to cultivate children's self-conscious in their childhood, knowing exactly what they want, so they are not going to feel lost when deciding their own life path afterward. For example, some children, who always listen to their parents in their growing life, tend to rely on others to tell them what to do. Secondly, encouraging kids to choose what they wants is able to increase their self-confidence, which can be seen as telling them that their ideas and suggestions matter. Finally, since they have to take the consequences of making these choices, they need to think carefully, and this will enhance their ability of judgement. On the other hand, making their own decisions can sometimes cause individuals who consider themselves more than thinking about others, which is to say, more selfish. The lack of concerning others ' opinion might lead to negative social impacts on themselves. For instance, people who have less inclination to consider others ' needs compare with think about their own, gain less popularity than people constantly taking care of others. Moreover, they might show reluctance to listen others ' suggestions with different voices against their own. In conclusion, even though there are some positive effects for children not think about themselves that frequently, yet the advantages of making decisions about their own wishes are far more valued.