Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been unprecedented growth in technology in the last decade. Some people think that maintaining libraries is necessary. I strongly believe that computer technology is now replacing their function. Firstly, with the help of the internet, it is extremely easy to download e- books. The majority of the population prefers reading resources online because it is not only free of cost but also there are a variety of invaluable articles. In contrast, very few individuals befall public information centers. Maintaining a library exclusively for these users is a thorough waste of time. To illustrate, according to a survey conducted in Austria, seventy-seven per cent of the Austrian population enjoyed skimming through books that could easily be found via the Google search engine. The local libraries, consequently, had to shut down as the number of citizens visiting the library drastically reduced. Secondly, unlike in the olden days, human beings appreciate videos and animations. Watching television has been a trend for a very long time. In addition, schools and universities make concepts clear with the aid of visualisations as opposed to the olden days when teachers taught their students with the help of textbook books. As a result the number of academic candidates and research aspirants who enjoy reading books from libraries significantly reduced. Furthermore, these aspirants accounted for a large number of the population. It is clearly a waste of time for a person to spend their time arranging books. To sum up, although there are individuals who enjoy going to libraries to read articles and novels, the number is too small to maintain a library. More time should be spent on contributing to the world via technology rather than spending time on something that is not very useful to society.