Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As there are more and more amount of international events hosted, like the Olympic Games, whether or not it has added burden on national expenses spikes a heated debate. While some convey that it is one of the greatest chances to showcase the nation's qualities, others maintain that it does more harm than good to the country's finances. Given that throwing an international event does require a huge amount of preparation and that it brings fame by being a host, I utterly believe that the upsides of hosting international sporting events outweigh the downsides. To begin, hosting worldwide sports activities provides a massive platform for the country to express its capability of managing plenty of details. For example, it takes France four years, right after the end of the Japan Olympics, to prepare for the upcoming one. Not only does it need to come up with a theme song and some vivid mascots, but also some well-designed infrastructures and gymnasiums. Such procedures can effectively increase its soft power if the host excels it. Consequently, being a successful host of events that are greatly concerned by all regimes boosts the international status of a country. On the contrary, it is undeniable that organizing global games is expensive, which may leach off resources that are used to cover social welfare expenditure. For instance, a few years ago, China spent thousands of millions to hold the Winter Olympics, while she could have utilized the money to alleviate poverty. However, at the same time, this attracts an enormous number of international tourists visiting the country. The income provided by the surge in tourism can cover the cost of hosting sporting games. In fact, the more the number of participating countries, the more financial benefits brought by tourists from worldwide. Therefore, such unjustifiable expense as proposed by opponents is very likely to attract a handsome amount of income. All in all, having discussed that hosting multination games can strengthen one's international power and that it brings revenue, I see no point to disagree with any nation to be the host. Still, social acceptance and nation's ability should be taken account into when handing out the application form to be the host of any worldwide events.