At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since academic excellence became a monument of success for most people in recent decades, a lot of parents started to pay less attention to other activities like sport exercise, cooking, woodwork, or other important life skills and instead have their children spend long hours at school to gain academic knowledge. While school and traditional education are very essential, I disagree with the notion that we should make children give up on learning other skills just for the sake of a good academic record. To begin with, traditional academic courses are usually meant to teach kids to become doctors, lawyers, or other white-collar jobs which despite being good career paths, are not the ultimate goals for everybody. There are so much more career opportunities for people to pursue, among them are woodworkers, chefs, dressmakers, and athletes which although not commonly viewed by the public as prestigious career choices, are still a very integral part of society. Secondly, school nowadays is a very stressful place for most kids, having them do other activities and a lower number of academic classes might help students to feel more relaxed and comfortable and as a result, enjoy the time in school than they used to. Thirdly, learning important life skills like swimming, cooking, or fixing clothes can benefit students later on in life. For example, when students enter college and have to take care of themselves, they can do these activities on their own without help from friends. Furthermore, Teaching them these lessons can make kids see the values of these seemingly tedious works and the people who are responsible for doing them and hence, realize that everyone has a role to play in society and feel more appreciated for those whom we usually take for granted. In conclusion, even though the academic record is very important for everyone who wishes to do well in life, it is not all that matters. Therefore, schools should pay attention to other aspects of people’s lives and teach students important life skills so that students grow up to be good and responsible citizens of society.