Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present situation, air pollution has become a common concern all over the globe which has to be mitigated. Some people insist that avoiding using private cars for a day can bring about a huge amount of merits in dwindling the air pollution, while others maintain that there are more effective methods to deal with this problem. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the former argument. At the outset, it is undeniable that not only does using private vehicles exacerbate the air quality but the industry fields also take a huge responsibility. To be specific, offering higher taxes to the industries may exert a positive impact on alleviating air pollution. Another measure worth mentioning is that encouraging individuals to take transportations in their daily lives, thus this will eventually lead the number of vehicles in the road that emit fumes. Nevertheless, I am strongly convinced that preventing the use of cars can be the most influential way on solving air pollution. There is no doubt that it is the fumes from the vehicles that are the staple culprit of deteriorating the standard of air quality. According to research conducted by the U.S government, the use of private cars comprised 68%,which increases carbon and sulphur dioxide. Furthermore, the term 'consistency' is a major fact that allows problems to be solved or at least reduced. What I mean is that compared with increasing the taxes which seems to be temporary, making a specific day with no cars as a policy will constantly lower the carbon footprint and as a result, this policy may bring about a substantial impact on society in the long term. In conclusion, although there are several methods that can aid in mitigating air pollution, I am firm of my opinion that avoiding the use of cars is the most crucial part to deal with the never unsurmountable problem if the government take an action there and then.